MP4 – The World’s Best Parliamentarians’ Rock Band

What do hard-working MP’s do in their spare time? The answer, in some cases, is probably ‘not much’.

But MP4 are on a mission. They are using their love of music to help raise money for charity and to assist good causes.

MP4 are made up of MPs Kevin Brennan (Lab) on guitar and vocals, Pete Wishart (SNP) on keyboard and Greg Knight (Con) on drums along with former MP Ian Cawsey (Lab) on bass guitar and vocals. Formed in 2004, MP4 are the first -and currently the world’s only Parliamentary Rock band. They have helped to raise over half a million pounds for charity since their first gig.

Their first album, which was released in aid of charity in 2005, contained four tracks, -three covers and one original. The songs are: ‘In the Midnight Hour’, ‘Can’t Buy Me Love’, ‘My Old Friend the Blues’ and a band-original track called ‘Foolish Game’. The session was produced by Robin Millar, who also produces Sade.

The CD, given a digital release by EMI, is still available on Busy Bee Records.

In December 2009, they backed Feargal Sharkey, performing with him his hit ‘Teenage Kicks’.

In December 2010 and again in 2011 they performed a special New Year’s Eve sell-out concert on the Terrace of the House of Commons. Guests included The Speaker, other MP’s and a number of VIP guests, including Duffy.

The second MP4 album, called ‘Cross Party’ was released in 2010 by Revolver Records. It is still on sale in all good shops and is available on ‘iTunes.’ It features twelve tracks, nine of which are band originals.

In December 2011 they were awarded the title of the ‘Alternative Parliamentary Entertainers’ of the year at the 4th annual GovNet Awards held in the House of Lords.