Press Releases


Published date : 17 May, 2014

Scottish National Party politicians have congratulated St Johnstone FC on their historic victory in the Scottish Cup Final this afternoon (Saturday) Ms Roseanna Cunningham MSP, Member of the Scottish Parliament for Perthshire South & Kinross-shire, who has McDiarmid Park in her constituency, said: “I am absolutely delighted for everyone involved with St Johnstone.  This historic victory is a tremendous achievement and I am sure that there will be celebrations throughout Perthshire all weekend. “The Saints have truly come marching in.  Tommy Wright and his players are now St Johnstone legends and I know that the streets of the Fair City will be packed when they get back to Perthshire and parade the trophy.” Mr Pete Wishart MP, Member of Parliament for Perth & North Perthshire, also counts St Johnstone as constituents and he said: “What a fantastic game! Both sides provided a real spectacle with an exciting game of football. Many congratulations to Steve Brown, Tommy Wright and above all the players who have written their names into the history books. “This victory will be particularly savoured by committed Saintees but the whole of Perthshire is absolutely buzzing as a result of their success.” Ms Annabelle Ewing MSP, Member of the Scottish Parliament representing Mid Scotland & Fife, continued: “Well done to the Saints for their stunning success.  It was brilliant to have a Tayside derby for the Scottish Cup final and this is a wonderful result.  Congratulations, too, to both sets of fans who contributed to a colourful festival atmosphere.”

Back to All Press Releases